Executive Recruitment

Leadership and Governance

The Bishop’s Leadership Team consists of senior clergy and lay people, committed to an ethos of shared episcope and collaboration.

 They support the Diocesan Bishop in developing and providing strategic direction and leadership for the Diocese. The Bishops, the Archdeacons, the Dean of Chelmsford, the Dean of Mission, Ministry and Education and the CEO and Diocesan Secretary are also members of Bishop’s Council, Diocesan Synod and the Board of Finance. 

The Chelmsford Diocesan Board of Finance

The Board of Finance is responsible for the custody and management of the diocesan finances and the employment of all persons in receipt of salaries paid directly from those funds.

The Chelmsford Diocesan Board of Finance is a charity and a company limited by guarantee and is accountable under the Diocesan Boards of Finance Measure 1925.

Diocesan Synod

Members of the Diocesan Synod are the members of the Chelmsford Diocese Board of Finance* and CDBF meetings take place during Diocesan Synod meetings.  The Diocesan Synod is elected every three years and members are involved in making strategic decisions which affect the Diocese, for example, Diocesan strategies are put to the Diocesan Synod for approval prior to implementation. The Synod considers and approves standard items such as the annual budget of the Diocese. The Synod also considers matters brought by the local Deanery Synods and referred to it by the national General Synod. Members can also bring matters of concern for consideration through Private Members.

*Except where they are disqualified from doing so due to a conflict of interest)

Bishop’s Council

Like many dioceses, Chelmsford has brought together a number of committees to join up policy, priorities and finance so that the members of the Bishop’s Council are the standing committee of the Diocesan Synod, the board of directors/trustees of the Diocesan Board of Finance (Finance Committee) and the Mission and Pastoral Committee.

Finance sub committees

The  Finance Committee has four  non-executive sub committees Audit Committee, Investments Committee, Houses Committee  and Remuneration and Governance Committee (for staff pay).

Other Committees

The other main committees are the Bishop’s Council Standing Committee, the Area Mission and Pastoral Committees, the Diocesan Advisory Committee and the Diocesan Board of Education which oversees the work of our 139 Church Schools. There is also the Vacancy in See Committee but this is dormant until a vacancy for a Diocesan Bishop arises.

Ad hoc Steering Groups

When detailed consideration is required by the Bishop’s Council on a particular subject or review, an ad hoc Steering Group will be formed with representation of interested parties.

It is not expected that the Chair of the CDBF would be a member of all the above committees.